Floating Island II – Sketch 1 (Starlight Music Chronicles Ad)

floating island ii sketch 1Having completed a floating-island image a few days ago as an opening graphic for an independent Ontario film company, I thought I’d take the techniques I’d developed and apply them to a second, more detailed floating island image for a full-page ABM ad offered to me in the December issue of Starlight Music Chronicles. Similar to how I began the first island image, this sketch is but the first piece to many that will follow, with texture treatments, colors and more to come to lend the completed image a solid, colorful and three-dimensional appearance. As you can plainly see, this is a very rough image, which I began last night around 4 p.m. as a pencil sketch and inked over a few hours this afternoon in the studio. The image still requires a great amount of cleanup before moving it into Photoshop, and as a wire frame, it definitely appears flatter than it will after completion. Yet I nonetheless wanted to put it out there as a look into the ABM sketchbook, though I certainly can’t take credit for the idea of the floating island. That idea was developed a long time ago by artist Roger Dean (as evidenced by his covert-art work for the band Yes). Having said that, I find great inspiration in emulating that work in my modest way, and I look forward to discovering my own fantastic realms.


Copyright © 2015, Xristopher Bland for abmCreative. All rights reserved. Contact abmcreativeservices@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

