15-X at 4 a.m. (Video Frame Title Backdrop)

abm creative 15X collageI usually awaken each day between 4 and 5 a.m. because my brain seems to have its own agenda, preferring that I put the coffee on and begin exploring new ideas rather than sleeping. This week, the dawn hours (and rest of the hours) have involved a range of writing, from SMC artist features and client cover letters to marketing material. As a result, I wasn’t really surprised today when my brain said, “Okay, you’ve written enough this week. Let’s play with some visuals.” So I started tinkering with a new backdrop for the opening title frame of a video to highlight some of the many graphics I’ve produced since leaving Conestoga in the spring.

As with many graphics that I produce, the backdrop involved multiple shapes and layers. In this work, I worked within contrasting gold and brown colors masked with steel and stone textures from my photo archive. The subtle mathematical lines are from workbook drawings inherited from my late uncle while he was studying engineering. The final work (the largest image in the collage) was then framed with some of the pieces involved in its assembly.

It’s now 7:20 a.m. as I write and, yup, I’m going back to bed now (I think). Have a fantastic weekend everyone.


Copyright © 2015, Xristopher Bland for abmCreative. All rights reserved. Contact abmcreativeservices@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

