Firepaint

Firepaint Mixdown 1Though light-tracing techniques are nothing new, I hadn’t really played around with them much. So last Saturday while enjoying the company of friends around a bonfire at Rosewood, I set my camera to its night setting, asked our guest Alex to trace random patterns in the air with a flaming stick and steadied my hand as best I could to record what came. As impromptu as the moment was, I didn’t think of getting my tripod from the trunk of the car, and that may have lent the images better clarity. Still, the blurred effect of the images lends an element of otherworldliness, and I’m certain that I’ll be exploring this technique again in the future because it was just great fun, and that’s likely the best reason to do anything.

Leave a Reply

