Every Blade of Grass

Every Blade of GrassI don’t normally attach quotes, inspirational sayings or other words directly to images, but yesterday moved me to do this after spending a few hours in the meadows along the banks of the Eramosa. I was on the search for butterflies. There seemed to be more variety than in previous summers. Yet with the wind, overcast and cool temperatures, the butterflies had seemingly all gone indoors. A bit disheartened, I was returning home when the subtlest of flits within the grass caught my attention. Hunkering down, I noticed the forest of grasses was alive with the tiniest of creatures, alighting here, moving there, flashes of blue and yellow, all so quickly. Stillness was the only option to photograph them, so I sat still in the grass. With my camera set to maximum zoom, I just breathed, observed and let the creatures come to me. In doing so, I was reminded of the need for stillness in daily life and how, under every blade of grass, the beauty of life stands evident.

Leave a Reply

